Mr Music

Who is that young man?

Strumming the guitar

Singing into my soul

Writing chapters similar to mine

Lets go back in time

To smiles and miles

To wet skin and thudding hearts

When I wished we wouldn’t part

when I’d hold my heart in my hand

on display,  feeling naked as I sang

and he’d smile in the audience

encouragement of the best form.

I barely knew him

I wasn’t beyond the surface layer

But I could tell from the cuts

There were too many layers

I could tell as he held me up to float

He’d been let down to many times.

His eyes said trust me, so I did

And every time I looked at him

I was reassured that I was safe.

I wasn’t afraid to dive in

To let my guard down and live a bit

Not too proud to say thank you

For updating my range of emotions

For letting me breathe under water

Holding me against his length

Got me wondering about my depth

wet skin and thudding hearts

the sky was pouring with joy that day

and it washed me clean of my insecurities

as he held me and kissed me

I wished he’d miss me

Even after I was gone

That he’d write at least a poem

About me, and turn it into a song

And maybe one day,

When I’m sitting in the audience

I’ll think

Who is that young man?

Strumming the guitar

Singing into my soul

Writing chapters similar to mine

 

One response to “Mr Music

Leave a Reply

